top of page

Changing My Life in ONE Year (inspired by Dottie James)

Third Year is getting HARD.

As you know, I am now in my third and FINAL year of Drama School and to be honest it's tough. At the moment I am working on my Practical Dissertation (20 minute performance and 10 minute seminar paper) and my Portfolio (5000 word portfolio on a European Theatre Company and their business strategies). And I am struggling to stay motivated. I get distracted so easily and I have stopped exercising and my body is definitely feeling no benefits to that.

Today I realised what I was doing when I looked up from my laptop screen (where my procrastination had lead me to watching youtube videos on dangerous waters around the world) and saw I was sat on my unmade bed in my pyjamas with mess surrounding me drinking my 5th cup of tea of the day. And I realised I don't want this to be the way I get my degree. I need to work harder, focus more and change my attitude. During my procrastinations on youtube, I came across Dottie James' new videos documenting how she is going to change her life in 365 days. And I have decided to do the same, one step at a time.

Dottie created 4 sections of change which are all quite fitting:

1. THE BIG

2. THE WEEKLY

3. THE DAILY

4. TO DO TODAY (RIGHT NOW)

THE BIG

1. I will find a job for when I leave Rose Bruford and hopefully it will be in Edinburgh.

2. I will find accommodation in Edinburgh.

3. I will save my money for a wedding.

4. I will leave university with a good degree grade.

THE WEEKLY

1. I will go to Church EVERY Sunday.

2. I will eat more healthy foods (but still treat myself to a salted caramel cake every once in a while).

3. I will call my parents more than once a week.

4. I will use my camera.

5. I will post at least one blog post a week.

THE DAILY

1. I will make my bed every morning.

2. I will do a devotional each day.

3. I will facetime Nathan for half an hour minimum.

4. I will do at least one hour of work.

5. I will eat less gluten.

6. I will read something.

7. I will keep my bedroom and the house tidy.

8. I will read and reply to all my messages.

TO DO TODAY (RIGHT NOW)

1. I will spend a couple of hours in the library working on my portfolio and dissertation.

2. I will eat at normal times.

3. I will speak to people I haven't spoken to in a while.

4. I will clean my nose piercing twice.

I am hoping to change my life into a happier and healthier one both in myself and in my relationship with God over the duration of 365 days.


bottom of page